Head in a cloud

Before a more substantial post hopefully some time next week, here is an update on last week’s quizzes, plus five brand new Word Cloud Puzzles!

Quiz #1 – the word cloud was correctly identified as from the Arabian Nights. ‘Vizier’ and ‘Sultan’ were “a bit of a giveaway”.

Quiz #2 – not the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, not Stevenson, but interesting guesses nonetheless.

Let’s reprint it for convenience. The following haikus (actually, ordinary sentences which happen to be breakable into groups of 5, 7, and 5 syllables) are found in the same book. The question is: which one?

Who was I? What was
I? Whence did I come? What was
my destination?

Who can describe their
horror and consternation
on beholding me?

On that night he had
determined to consummate
his crimes by my death.

 

And now five brand new Word Cloud Puzzles! The following word clouds have been created from famous texts; the size of words in the cloud increases with their frequency in the texts. This time, to avoid another viziergate and make things trickier, I also deleted the more identifiable words (mostly proper names).

Good luck!

 

cloud 1

cloud 2

cloud 3

cloud 4

cloud 5

About the quiet one

I ain't never ever had the gift of gab, but I can talk with my eyes. Words fail me, you won't nail me, my eyes can tell you lies. View all posts by the quiet one

18 responses to “Head in a cloud

Leave a Reply

