Je me souviens

When I was a wee lad, at that age when most memories are those you gather from family members telling you do you remember that time when… years afterwards, my dad drove us to some place, god knows which. The road ended up in a dead end (did we need to park? were we lost?); which incidentally is my earliest memory of a fancy road sign. At the end of the road there was a sort of sand-filled basin. I remember the surroundings being a pine forest, and the day was sunny, possibly Summer. I can’t remember how long we stayed or what else we did that day.

What I do remember though, is that for aaaages afterwards, I was convinced that dead ends always ended up with a sand-filled basin. Better still, I had been so impressed that dead ends with sand-filled basins were a recurrent feature in my drawings at that period, and for quite a while afterwards. Sometimes I wonder what the teachers (or whoever the victim recipient of the picture was) were making of it. Nor, truth be told, if they understood what the deuce this strange coloured blot at the end of the road was (I hope at least the dead end sign was recognisable). I’m not even sure I used the proper colour for the sand.

Picture credit: Kentin31

About the quiet one

I ain't never ever had the gift of gab, but I can talk with my eyes. Words fail me, you won't nail me, my eyes can tell you lies. View all posts by the quiet one

4 responses to “Je me souviens

Leave a Reply

